Athletes honoured at awards evening - The Stratford Observer

Athletes honoured at awards evening

Stratford Editorial 12th Nov, 2015 Updated: 28th Oct, 2016   0

KATE Wright and Rich Shepherd have been named senior athletes of the year at the 2015 Stratford Athletic Club awards at Stratford School.

Wright, ranked number three in her age group in the UK for the marathon, was also winner of the women’s senior grand prix award.

Fellow long-distance specialist Shepherd was also the winner of the men’s senior cross-country award.

Hannah Spriggs took the Chris Claxton Memorial Trophy, with Isabelle Cain-Daley and Oliver Cresswell named the junior athletes of the year.

Stratford AC coach Paul Bearman welcomed more than 250 athletes and their families from across all parts of the club to celebrate the successes and achievements of the junior and senior sections at the annual club awards.

He said: “It’s been another very full, exciting and successful year across the club.

“This success has a price tag attached to it. Not monetary, but in hours, days, weeks and months of volunteer time year on year that equated to an average of 127 person hours a week in the juniors alone, plus the seniors, and this amounted to nigh on £100,000 per annum.”

He also announced guests had contributed prizes to the raffle which raised £400 and revealed 50 per cent of the proceeds are being donated to the spinal unit at University Hospital Coventry & Warwickshire.

Stratford-upon-Avon AC Annual Awards 2015

Club Championship Winners, Girls U11: Sophie Ross

Boys U11: Louis Kendrick

Girls U13: Jasmine Williams

Boys U13: George Hendy

Girls U15: Imogen Sheppard

Boys U15: Oliver Cresswell

Girls U17: Emily Madden Forman

Boys U17: Daniel Boyd

Male U20/Seniors: Alex Grant

Senior Seniors: Brian Gravelsons

Female U20 Seniors: Paula Williams

Most Supportive Junior Person of the Year, U11 Girls: Sophie Ross and Jemma Hall

U11 Boys: Matthew Bexson

U13 Girls: Susie Mishima

U13 Boys: William Humphreys

U15 Girls: Daisy Musk

U15 Boys: Archie Musk

U17 & 20 Ladies: Jessica Sheppard

Under 17 & 20 Men: James Gionis & Daniel Boyd

President’s Trophies Most Improved Junior Girl over 300m or 400m: Jessica Sheppard

President’s Trophies Most Improved Junior Boy over 400m: Zephan Boxall and Isaac Sargent

Junior All-Round Athlete: Imogen Sheppard

The Allen Wood ‘Endeavour’ Trophy: Emily Wild

Star of Tomorrow Female: Danielle Horton

Star of Tomorrow Male: Oliver Cresswell

Junior Cross Country Award Female: Agnes McTighe

Junior Cross Country Award Male: Oscar Barbour

Chairman’s Trophy Most Improved Junior Female: Anna Gionis

Chairman’s Trophy Most Improved Junior Male: Cavan Farrow

Junior Club Person of the Year: Sandy Green and Michael Lane

Junior Athlete of the Year Female: Isabelle Cain-Daley

Junior Athlete of the Year Male: Oliver Cresswell

Stratford-ipon-Avon AC Hall of Fame 2015: Isabelle Cain-Daley and Emily Madden Forman

Senior Grand Prix Awards, Female: Kate Wright

Male: David Jones

Chris Claxton Memorial Trophy: Hannah Spriggs

Senior Shakespeare Competition, Female: Hannah Spriggs

Male: Rob Minton

Senior Track & Field Athlete of the Year, Female: Amanda Evans

Male: Alex Grant

Senior Triathlon Awards, Female Grand Prix: Jo Young

Male Grand Prix: Richard Eden

Most Improved Female: Leighanne Earley

Most Impoved Male: Dave Clarkson

Triathlete of the Year Female: Becky Loftus

Triathlete of the Year Male: Wayne Vickers

Senior Cross Country Award, Female: Emma Slevin

Male: Rich Shepherd

Most Improved Senior Athlete of the Year, Female: Penny Stainthorp

Male: Tim Hutchinson

Senior Club Personality: Penny Stainthorp

Senior Athlete of the Year, Female: Kate Wright

Male: Rich Shepherd

Reader Travel

Check out all of the latest reader travel offers to get your hands on some free gifts.

Business Directory

From plumbers, to restaurants, we can provide you with all the info you need.


Find a career you'll love with our free career finder website.


We can provide all of your printing needs at competitive rates.