Conservatives gain overall control of Warwickshire County Council - The Stratford Observer

Conservatives gain overall control of Warwickshire County Council

Stratford Editorial 5th May, 2017 Updated: 5th May, 2017   0

THE CONSERVATIVES have gained overall control of Warwickshire County Council.

The Tories, who previously led the council with 26 seats, won 36 of the 57 seats at Thursday’s.

Labour lost ten seats leaving the party with ten; while the Lib Dems lost one leaving them with seven. There are also two Greens, and two Independents.

In Stratford district 55 candidates contested 13 divisions. Overall turnout figure for Stratford District area was 39.7%.

The results from the respective divisions were:

Alcester – Turnout 40.6%

Mark David Cargill (Conservative) 1841

Andrew Mark Foster (Labour) 161

Susan Juned (Liberal Democrat) 1227

Duncan Parker (Green Party) 106

Arden – Turnout 35.9%

Mark Griffiths (Green Party) 187

John Nicholas Horner (Conservative) 2451

Karyl Arlene Rees (Liberal Democrat) 365

Bidford & Welford – Turnout 38.3%

Mike Brain (Conservative) 1945

Debbie Griffiths (Green Party) 150

William Bruce Horton (Liberal Democrat) 702

Graham Stanley Credland Porter (UKIP) 178

Cat Price (Labour) 323

Feldon – Turnout 37.3%

Pat Hotson (Green Party) 174

Matthew Joseph Panton (Labour) 356

Bob Stevens (Conservative) 1901

Bev Veasey-Walshe (Liberal Democrat) 436

Kineton & Red Horse – Turnout 42.1%

Rob Ballantyne (Green Party) 114

Edward Leslie Fila (UKIP) 143

Patrick Thomas Jenkins (Labour) 178

Laura Catherine Steele (Liberal Democrat) 1218

Chris Williams (Conservative) 1351

Shipston-on-Stour – Turnout 39.9%

Jo Barker (Conservative) 2011

Roger Graham Billins (Liberal Democrat) 647

John William Hartigan (Labour) 227

Dave Passingham (Green Party) 176

Southam, Stockton & Napton – Turnout 36.3%

Andy Crump (Conservative) 1854

Ros Grant (Labour) 514

Andrew William Wilton (Liberal Democrat) 127

Derek Price (Green Party) 129

Stour and the Vale – Turnout 40.5%

Dean Owen Jones (Green Party) 171

Izzi Seccombe (Conservative) 1862

Jan Sewell (Labour) 199

Di Walden (Liberal Democrat) 278

Stratford North – Turnout 35.2%

John Allan Hartley (Labour) 244

Tony Jefferson (Conservative) 753

Keith Lloyd (Stratford First) 876

Dominic Edmund Paul Skinner (Liberal Democrat) 640

John David Scott (Green Party) 134

Stratford South – Turnout 46.5%

Philip Applin (Conservative) 1437

Emma Frances Bradley (Labour) 258

Tony Dennis (Green Party) 119

Kate Rolfe (Liberal Democrat) 1949

Stratford West – Turnout 41.3%

Jenny Fradgley (Liberal Democrat) 1608

Jonathan Edward Gullis (Conservative) 849

John Riley (Green Party) 86

Eleanor Brenda Marie Whitehead (Labour) 177

Studley – Turnout 39.1%

Alistair Goddon (Green Party) 67

Justin Antony Lee Kerridge (Conservative) 1170

Chris Pilkington (Labour) 270

Clive Anthony Rickhards (Liberal Democrat) 1195

Wellesbourne – Turnout 43.7%

James Thomas Briggs (Labour) 163

Roger Fisher (Green Party) 110

David William Johnston (Liberal Democratic) 1201

Anne Vivienne Parry (Conservative) 1852

Frank Rietz (UKIP) 122


Receive a weekly update to your inbox by signing up to our weekly newsletter.

Online Editions

Catch up on your local news by reading our e-editions on the Stratford Observer.


Weddings, Birthdays, Bereavements, Thank you notices, Marriages and more.


We can provide all of your printing needs at competitive rates.