CONSERVATORS will be revealing the history of fragments of medieval paintings discovered in Stratford’s The Guild Chapel.
A talk will place at the chapel on June 1 as part of a lottery funded project to conserve and showcase the wall paintings, which has uncovered works some 500 years-old.
Parts of the Life of Adam and the Dance of Death found behind the wooden panelling running down both sides of the chapel, mean it is one of few places in Europe to have an almost complete medieval decorative scheme.
As well as its history dating back to 1269, the Guild Chapel has long associations with Shakespeare. Standing between the playwright’s schoolroom and his final home at New Place, it would have been a permanent fixture in his life.
And it was his father John who received the royal order to limewash the chapel’s wall paintings in 1563.
Those attending the talk will also be able to view two of the best-preserved wall paintings – the Doom and the Allegory of Death – following conservation which began last autumn- for the first time in detail since the 16th Century.
The talk, led by Richard Lithgow, Mark Perry and Kate Giles, is free to attend, with any donations welcomed. It starts at 7pm.
Visit www.guildchapel.org.uk for more information.